top of page

DoD 8570.01-M Approved Baseline Certifications

Information Assurance Technical (IAT)

Informational Assurance Management (IAM)

Informational Assurance System Architects and Engineers (IASAE)

Cyber Security Service Providers (CSSP)

Cyber Security Service Providers (CSSP) cont.

The above tables provide a list of DoD approved IA baseline certifications aligned to each category and level of the IA Workforce. Personnel performing IA functions must obtain one of the certifications required for their position, category/specialty and level to fulfill the IA baseline certification requirement. Most IA levels within a category or specialty have more than one approved certification and a certification may apply to more than one level.

An individual needs to obtain only one of the “approved certifications”; for his or her IA category or specialty and level to meet the minimum requirement. For example, an individual in an IAT Level II position could obtain any one of the four certifications listed in the IAT Level II cell.

Higher level IAT and IAM certifications satisfy lower-level requirements. Certifications listed in Level II or III cells can be used to qualify for Level I. However, Level I certifications cannot be used for Level II or III unless the certification is also listed in the Level II or III cell. For example:

The A+ or Network+ certification qualify only for Technical Level I and cannot be used for Technical Level II positions.
The System Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) certification qualifies for both Technical Level I and Technical Level II. If the individual holding this certification moved from an IAT Level I to an IAT Level II position, he or she would not have to take a new certification.

Higher level CSSP and IASAE certifications do not satisfy lower-level requirements

bottom of page